rFactor essentials (FAQ)

Public topics not directly related to NAR, for example real F1 racing.
Bilbo
NAR administrator

rFactor essentials (FAQ)

Post by Bilbo »

As an rFactor newbie, I have decided to start this thread to concentrate the useful things everybody (especially coming from F1C) should know to make their rFactor experience more enjoyable.

Please do not post comments or discussions in this thread, just the useful stuff please. Feel free to start another thread for discussion.
2010 NA div. Admin
Bilbo
NAR administrator

Post by Bilbo »

Telemetry in rFactor:

1. Install the telemetry from findthelimit in the rfactor folder
2. A telemetry folder will be created there, with an exe file inside called f1_telemetry.exe.
3. Go to the UserData/Player Name Folder (where Player Name is your name in the game ) and open with the Notepad the Player Name.plr file.
4. Under [ DRIVING AIDS ] you'll see some "Data Acquisition" lines, put them like this:
Data Acquisition Version="1" // Version of vehicle data to write out
Data Acquisition Rate="8"
Data Acquisition In Race="1"
Data Acquisition EXE="f1_telemetry.exe"
Data Acquisition File="Telemetry\vehicledata.spt"
5. Save the PLR file
6. Now it will work like F1 Challenge. Your last run will be saved as vehicledata.spt that you will need to load with the f1_telemetry.exe file to see the laps you made with all the data about it.

Source: HERE.
2010 NA div. Admin
Bilbo
NAR administrator

Post by Bilbo »

If you find yourself "fighting" to have the car go straight (on the straights), try setting the "Exaggerate Yaw" setting to zero. This setting is found under Controls -> Rates.

Also, if you find your head/view is bouncing around too much, lower the "Head Movement" setting (it's at the same place as above).

Thanks to Paul/rottenronny and SteveB for telling me.
2010 NA div. Admin
klaaz

Post by klaaz »

in the same section there's a setting for "look ahead".