Connection problems

Public topics, anyone can read/write.
Craig Cookson
Favorite team: NAR

Connection problems

Post by Craig Cookson »

Over the last few weeks my (not so broad) broadband connection has been getting worse - it seems to be cutting out a lot more than it used, and i just wondered if anyone had any ideas of how to fix it or what could cause it?

When it does 'cut out' (stops working) it usually starts working again quite quickly, normally within one minute, but obviously that is no good for online racing. My connection also seems to take longer to 'connect' when I first turn on my modem/router thing - the internet used to be ready to use by the time my computer booted up, but now it takes a good 2 or 3 minutes longer.

I'm not very technical when it comes to routers and connection settings but I have checked the settings that are built into my modem/router and they seem okay.

I was wondering if simply buying a better router could solve the problem (the one I use is the one that came as part of my TalkTalk package), but right now I don't really have spare money to buy a new one and test it out.

Thanks for any advice.
ForthRight
Mr G

Re: Connection problems

Post by Mr G »

You might find it is your provider talk talk i was with tiscali but they sold out to talk talk and i started getting connection lost at china race I sent them a shitty email and now its all ok :D ( I hope it last).

But they will send you a replay saying try this try that !!!!!! so contact your provider see what they have to say or suggest :D
NAR Vodafone McLaren Mercedes

dutch power
NAR administrator

Post by dutch power »

If you have a modem/router that you got from the provider ask them to send a new one.